EAC-Ready Certification for East African trade success

SGS, the world’s leading testing, inspection and certification company, is pleased to present details of the EAC-Ready Certification scheme for businesses selling to the East Africa Community (EAC).

East African standards (EAS) have been introduced by the EAC to establish harmonized safety and performance standards. Intended to encourage both intra-EAC and global trade, products subject to these standards must be compliant with them to access EAC markets.

The EAC is currently made up of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Zanzibar, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. With over 600 standards listed in the 2023 catalog for EAS, and more expected in line as regional development accelerates, producers, manufacturers, importers and brand owners selling to the EAC need to identify which are relevant to their products and have them tested and audited by an independent third-party laboratory.

Products within the scope of EAS standards:
– Agriculture-related products
– Automotive products
– Cosmetics products
– Household chemicals
– Industrial chemicals
– Construction/building materials
– Domestic items
– Electrical products
– Food products
– Petroleum and related products

SGS’s proprietary program, EAC-Ready Certification, is a unique voluntary scheme that is not available from other conformity assessment bodies. It allows for a quicker compliance process towards achieving mandatory pre-export verification of conformity (PVoC) for those countries that require it.

Further details of SGS’s PVoC services for the EAC are available in the Q2 PCA newsletter.

About SGS 
We are SGS – the world’s leading testing, inspection and certification company. We are recognized as the global benchmark for sustainability, quality and integrity. Our 99,600 employees operate a network of 2,600 offices and laboratories around the world.

Scroll to Top